Talk to a Consultant 866-873-8050
Contact Us

Firestopping Special Inspections for High Risk Facilities

Firestopping? – Oh that’s easy! Goop some red caulk around that pipe and you are good to go! Right? Well, not anymore.

Building code and fire inspection officials recently began strict enforcement of code requirements for firestopping inspections. The International Building Code (IBC) 2012, Section 1705.16 states that firestop inspections shall be included as part of the mandatory special inspections for high risk facilities. Enforcement began in earnest in January 2016, and now building owners, contractors and designers are bumping into this requirement on more and more projects.

So what is firestopping and why is it so special?

Fire stopping is defined by the International Firestop Council (IFC) as “a process where certain materials are used to resist or stop the spread of flames and its by-products through openings in rated walls, floors or floor/ceiling assemblies.” Fire stopping is part of a balanced approach to fire protection in buildings – Detection, Containment and Suppression.

Fire sprinkler systems may suppress flames, but they do not stop the spread of smoke and toxic gases. Studies have shown that smoke and gases travel at speeds of 120 to 420 feet per minute. 75% of fire related deaths are caused by smoke inhalation. Furthermore, almost 60% of fire related deaths happen in rooms away from the actual fire’s origin. Firestopping completes fire rated wall and floor assemblies by filling gaps around pipes, ducts, cabling and other openings with special intumescent materials specifically designed to resist the spread of flames, smoke and gasses.

Through penetration and membrane-penetration firestop systems, fire-resistant joint systems and perimeter fire barrier systems are critical to maintaining the integrity of fire-resistance-rated construction including fire walls, fire barriers, fire partitions, smoke barriers and horizontal assemblies.

Is my building considered high-risk?

According to the IBC, fire stopping systems in ‘high risk’ buildings shall be conducted by an approved inspection agency. In many areas, building code officials are going even further by requiring firestop inspectors to be IFC certified. High risk buildings are defined as Risk Category III and IV buildings as well as high-rise buildings, which includes the following types of buildings:

  • Risk Category III: public assembly spaces, schools, assisted living, and detention facilities.
  • Risk Category IV: hospitals, police, fire and rescue buildings, power stations and aviation control towers.
  • High-rise buildings: buildings over 75 feet in height, which often includes apartment and office buildings in addition to the risk categories defined above.

International Building Code 2012, Sections 1705.16.1 and 1705.16.2 require that firestopping inspections follow ASTM E2174 – Standard Practice for On-Site Inspection of Penetration Firestops and ASTM E2393 – Standard Practice for On-Site Inspection of Fire-Resistive Joint Systems and Perimeter Fire Barriers. The IFC offers a stringent course of training to prepare certified firestop inspectors.

Firestop inspections provide quality control and quality assurance that fire stopping systems meet the required fire-resistance rating as defined by the building code and specific construction documents for new and remodeled buildings. Braun Intertec has a team of dedicated professionals in our Building Sciences and Nondestructive Examination groups who have worked together to develop training, inspection and reporting procedures to meet a growing demand for firestop inspections during construction of schools, hospitals and similar high-risk facilities. For more information, contact Eric Bergman at [email protected]